Ack! It’s the middle of the afternoon on a Tuesday, and I haven’t posted anything yet. Actually, this week is pretty busy, so I don’t think I’m going to get a proper post published this week. I’m off to Chicago, because I am very busy and important, so I’m trying to cram in a few days work into one afternoon. But I just wanted to take some time to point out some awesome women’s rights victories that happened this week.

The Department of Health and Human Services announced this week that insurers must cover birth control without a copay. AKA FREE BIRTH CONTROL PILLS, BITCHEZ! I’ll be honest; I’m a little surprised by this. I totally thought those anti-choice (more accurately known as anti-contraception) crowd would win, like they have been these past few months. So this is definitely something to celebrate.

There is also reason to cheer coming from my home state of Kansas. A federal judge blocked a state law that strips Planned Parenthood of its federal money. Planned Parenthood challenged the law under the Supremacy Clause, which says that states aren’t allowed to put more requirements on federal money than is allowed by federal law. Money has to be immediately restored. Yay! Justice FTW!

This blog has been kind of a downer of late, so I just wanted to share some awesome news for women across the country.

Image credit: S.MiRK

